MSU Billings faculty members honored

2014-04-13T00:00:00Z MSU Billings faculty members honored The Billings Gazette
April 13, 2014 12:00 am

Montana State University Billings honored a small group of outstanding faculty Thursday for their achievements in teaching, scholarship, engagement and service during a special celebration.

About 250 people attended the annual MSU Billings Faculty Excellence Awards celebration, which was held at the Big Horn Resort with an awards ceremony and dinner. Faculty and students were joined by community and business leaders to honor the nine faculty members for their achievements.

Those honored by nomination from fellow faculty members, deans and others were Tessie Rose Bailey, assistant professor of educational theory and practice (Faculty Excellence Award, College of Education); Susan Gilbertz, associate professor of environmental studies, social sciences and cultural studies (Faculty Excellence Award, College of Arts and Sciences); Tami Haaland, professor of English, philosophy and modern languages (Faculty Excellence Award, College of Arts and Sciences); Katherine Pfau, City College instructor of automotive technology (City College Leadership Award); Maggie McBride, associate professor of math (Promoting International Student Success Award, College of Arts and Sciences); Matthew Anderson, lecturer of geography, biological and physical sciences (Excellence Award for non-tenured faculty, College of Arts and Sciences); Joseph Bryan, adjunct professor of history (Excellence Award for part-time faculty, College of Arts and Sciences); Susan Winn, instructor of nursing (Outstanding Service Learning Faculty Award, City College, Health Sciences); and Sarah Knobel, assistant professor of photography and new media (Winston & Helen Box Fellowship Award, College of Arts and Sciences).

Copyright 2014 The Billings Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Billings Gazette

Activate Full Access RED

Popular Stories

Monthly Features

MSU names Outstanding Agricultural Leaders

The Montana State University College of Agriculture will present its Outstanding Agricultural Leader awards during the annual Celebrate Agriculture event Nov. 7-8 at Montana State University.

12 hours agoLoading…

CVS Health expands tobacco ban to pharmacy network

First, CVS Health pulled tobacco from its store shelves. Now, it plans to make some customers think twice about filling prescriptions at other stores that sell smokes.

12 hours agoLoading…

Housing and Urban Development chief to visit Bakken

Housing and Urban Development chief to visit Bakken

WILLISTON, N.D. — U.S. Sen. Heidi Heitkamp is set to host U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Julian Castro in western North Dakota on Wednesday.

October 21, 2014 6:49 amLoading…
Get weekly ads via e-mail

Deals & Offers

Featured Businesses