Review: Book award finalist covers new ground in popular genre

2013-08-04T00:00:00Z 2013-10-03T16:44:05Z Review: Book award finalist covers new ground in popular genreBy CARA CHAMBERLAIN For The Gazette The Billings Gazette
August 04, 2013 12:00 am  • 

"I See My Love More Clearly From a Distance"

Nora Gould

Brick Books

 

Once pioneering, books about the rural Great Plains told from a woman’s perspective have lately become so numerous as to seem commonplace, almost forming a genre of their own. But Nora Gould’s collection of poetry, "I See My Love More Clearly From A Distance," proves that there are still new insights to be explored in these works.

An Alberta rancher, veterinarian and wildlife rehabilitator, Gould’s approach is both scientific and intimate. The book is filled with delicately drawn images of the natural world as well as vocabulary more often encountered in medical textbooks. Here are northern lights, wildflowers and “brockle cows” as well as “fetopelvic disproportion,” psoriasis and an “avulsed” “brachial plexus.”

What makes it work is that Gould equates her body and her place, using language that is apt, if startling:

I wander through the headlands

... where I find a Rock

Dove who nests in my buccal cavity — her squab will fledge

from my tongue.

As most women describe it, ranching is far from easy, but the connection that Gould illuminates between a woman’s body and the prairie transcends mere hardship in its sensuality. Consider these lines:

Winter sun would lift my face.

Ribbons of sandhill cranes would bind me

here.

The land encompasses both its nonhuman inhabitants and the people who work hard to keep it well-ordered. It is even a party to the marriage that anchors the book. In a kind of ménage à trois, the poet speaker, her husband Charl, and ranch life interact physically and sometimes violently:

I have no arms. His weight

on my inner thigh turns my femur to a crow

bar, opens me — my latch unsought.

Such occasional bitterness transforms to understanding when the poet speaker acknowledges that Charl’s affections, though directed outward, are profound:

Your love has never nested in my body.

Come summer I’ll travel to the Neutral Hills,

your Northern Harrier kiss lives there.

"I See My Love More Clearly From a Distance" is primarily about family. But “family” here includes parents, children, dogs, red-tailed hawks, “palmate lupines,” and cattle. Whether human or nonhuman, deaths to be mourned and births to be celebrated are earthy and intimate.

With all its complexity, Gould’s poetry benefits from a second or third reading. Named but otherwise initially unidentified family members appear in such numbers throughout the collection’s many narrative offerings that annoyance often interferes with the joy of exploration. But once the relationships among the characters resolve into focus, the life of the ranch takes on an engaging immediacy.

On a second reading, too, the juxtaposition of poetic sentiment and clinical terminology becomes insightful rather than odd:

Growth arrest lines

cross the epiphyses of the long bones of our marriage.”

A richly crafted work informed by both specialized knowledge and aesthetic sensitivity, "I See My Love More Clearly From a Distance" by Nora Gould is one of this year’s three finalists for poetry in the High Plains Book Awards and makes a unique contribution to women’s ranch literature.

Copyright 2015 The Billings Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More from the Gazette

Bookmobile

January 25, 2015 12:00 amLoading…
New novel explores Van Gogh's silent period

New novel explores Van Gogh's silent period

January 25, 2015 12:00 amLoading…

Bookmobile

January 18, 2015 12:00 amLoading…

Bookmobile

January 11, 2015 12:00 amLoading…

Local literature: A few exciting reads by Helena authors

January 04, 2015 12:00 amLoading…

Bookmobile

January 04, 2015 12:00 amLoading…
Try these exciting reads by Helena authors

Try these exciting reads by Helena authors

January 04, 2015 12:00 am Photos

Photos

Loading…

Bookmobile

December 28, 2014 12:00 amLoading…
Review: 'Five' by Ursula Archer is intriguing

Review: 'Five' by Ursula Archer is intriguing

December 28, 2014 12:00 amLoading…

Bookmobile

December 21, 2014 12:00 amLoading…
'Killer Heels' looks at the history of high heels

'Killer Heels' looks at the history of high heels

December 21, 2014 12:00 amLoading…

Bookmobile

December 14, 2014 12:00 amLoading…
Jerry Lee Lewis: Sustained by brief blaze of glory

Jerry Lee Lewis: Sustained by brief blaze of glory

December 14, 2014 12:00 amLoading…
First Alice Munro collection since Nobel Prize

First Alice Munro collection since Nobel Prize

December 08, 2014 8:41 amLoading…

Bookmobile

December 07, 2014 12:00 amLoading…
'Midnight in Siberia' looks at Russia today

'Midnight in Siberia' looks at Russia today

December 07, 2014 12:00 amLoading…

Writers Roundup returns to Shrine on Saturday

December 02, 2014 10:15 amLoading…
Baldacci's new novel thrills — and tugs at heart

Baldacci's new novel thrills — and tugs at heart

November 30, 2014 12:00 amLoading…

Bookmobile

November 30, 2014 12:00 amLoading…

Follow Enjoy

Get weekly ads via e-mail

Featured Businesses