A voter deposits his ballot
CASEY PAGE, Gazette Staff

Seven people filed election paperwork for elected positions in Yellowstone County on Thursday.

The following people filed election paperwork:

  • Clerk and Recorder Jeff Martin for clerk and recorder.
  • Justice of the Peace David Carter for justice of the peace.
  • Sheriff Mike Linder for sheriff.
  • Matt Rich for auditor.
  • Current Treasurer/Assessor/Superintendent of schools Sherry Long for treasurer/assessor/superintendent of schools.
  • County Commissioner Robyn Driscoll for county commissioner in District 3.
  • Jeanne Walker for justice of the peace. 

Rich, who filed for county auditor, was the only non-incumbent to file Thursday. Previously Rich worked as anti-drug group Safe Montana's campaign manager for ballot initiative I-176, which proposed repealing Montana's medical marijuana program and aligning state drug laws with federal statutes. Roughly 8,000 rejected signatures left I-176 below the threshold of verified signatures needed for it to land on ballots for the November 2016 election.

The previous county auditor, Debby Hernandez, and her husband, former Justice of the Peace Pedro Hernandez, both retired on Nov. 30. 

The current county auditor is Scott Turner, who was appointed by county commissioners in December. Turner retired in 2015 after 28 years working for Yellowstone County, 26 of which he spent as finance director. 

After he was appointed in early December, Turner said he would decide after being in office a few months whether he wanted to run for election.

Jeanne Walker, a former attorney, was appointed by Yellowstone County commissioners in early December to fill Pedro Hernandez's vacated position.

Candidates may continue to file for election with the Yellowstone County Elections Office until March 11. 


Night Reporter

General assignment reporter for The Billings Gazette.