Achievers In the schools

2012-05-28T00:00:00Z Achievers In the schools The Billings Gazette
May 28, 2012 12:00 am

The Billings Music Teachers Association held its annual Spring Festival with 73 students participating. The top 10 performances were: Caden Moore, student of Palma Wolverton; Marley Ball, Alex Wittorf, and Delaney Harrington students of Elinore Quander; Hannah Johnson/Grace Bondurant (duet) and Haley Johnson, students of Margaret McGillvray; Sarah Boucher student of Charlene Waddingham, and James Roan, Elaine Atkinson, and Kathryn Pannell students of Sherlon Orth.

Montana’s state championship team from Laurel High School competed at the national "We The People: The Citizen and the Constitution Competition," in Washington, D.C. The following 16 students competed in six units against the 56 best teams in America: Tori Benders, Courtney Bruce, Kody Cameron, Austin Cannon, CJ Edgmond, Morgan Luce, Michael Marstaeller, Matt Miller, Madisen Mills, Crystal Nielsen, Sam Pollock, Luke Scheeler, Cassidy Sept, Blake Studiner, Morgan Thurman, and Kelcy Traeger. Angie Mogan attended as a student coach. Lee Deming coaches the students on civics and constitutional issues.

(Photo) Nicholas Prosinski of Billings has graduated magna cum laude from the University of North Dakota with a bachelor of science degree in atmospheric science and a minor in mathematics. He has also received his commission as a second lieutenant in the United States Air Force. He will attend the weather officer skills course at Keesler Air Force Base, Miss., in August. A 2008 graduate of Billings West High, he is the son of Steven and Shelley Prosinski.

Billings Elks Lodge #394 recognized area students at its annual Youth Awards Banquet on Tuesday.

Winners of the Elks Americanism essay, "Why I am Proud to Pledge Allegiance to our Flag" were: Division I (fifth/sixth grades): First place, Nicholas Wilks, sixth grade, Highland Elementary; second place, Colten Stidham, fifth grade, Lockwood Schools; third place, Chloe Hanser, sixth grade, Broadview School. Division II (seventh/eighth grades): First place, Harrison Fagg, eighth grade, St. Francis Upper, also won first at state; second place, Cassidy Robinson, eighth grade, St. Francis Upper; third place, Meg Fitzgerald, eighth grade, St. Francis Upper.

Student of the Year: David Holmes, Lewis & Clark Middle School; Courtney Hallock, Laurel Middle School; David Porter, Riverside Middle School; Kayla Lehman, Park City School; Cassidy Robinson, St. Francis Upper; McKenna Smyle, Castle Rock Middle School; Carly Schaff, Broadview Public School; Austin Marchwinski, Will James Middle School.

Elks Most Valuable Student Scholarship ($400 each): Brian D. Andersen (also won $500 from State), Kale G. Lemelin, Bayley A, Larsen (won $500 from State), Bryanna K. Ogger (won $500 from State), Taylor N. Smith, Katy F. Warner.

Elks Memorial Fund Scholarship winners ($1,000 each, from Billings unless otherwise noted): Autumn E. Blakley, Hardin; Brianna Burgess, Shepherd; Zachary K. Brehm; Nicholas Jacob Duncan; Jasmine M. Engellant, Park City; Kendra Hertz, Evanston, Ill.; Dylan T. Hjelvik, Melstone; Abbey J. Hollowell, Hysham; Mary Pankratz; Laura Prosinski; Marta Prosinski; Jerome Andrew Rangitsch Jr., Roundup; Syndi Jolena Seder, Melstone; Michaela A. Shifley, Laurel; Katy F. Warner; Hannah Weishoff; Johnathan Yakawich; Joseph Yakawich; Naomi Yakawich.

Rocky Mountain College freshman Sunni Hecht, of Lewistown, placed ninth in open horsemanship at the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association National show at the Hunt Horse Complex in Raleigh, N.C., May 3-6. Open horsemanship is the highest level of riding in the western discipline in IHSA. Linnea Warlick also competed for Rocky.

The following students in the Gazette's circulation made the Dean’s Honor List for Rocky Mountain College's spring semester. The list includes students who earned a 3.6- 4.0 grade point average. Students who achieved a 3.6–3.99 GPA earned high honors and are indicated by *.

Absarokee: Shane McClurg, Keturah Stahl; Baker: Kelsey Hadley*; Billings: Cassie Albers*, Chere Anderson. Levi Anderson, Justin Arney*, Anthony Arveschoug*, Anudari Batjargal*, Briana Beer*, Kendal Borgeson, Jan Branning, Anna Browder*, Sara Brunner, Kelly Carlson, Michael Damrow. Evelyn Defferding*, Johnathan Diem. Jacob Downs*, Jessica Drake, Luke Duley, Jami Eaton*, Callie Eike*, Jamie Elenbaas. Daniel Emrick, Keturah Erickson, Christopher Farmer, Isa Floden, Blaise Geyer*, Ben Gleason*, Anna Gregory*, Linda Gutmann*, Michaela Hale, Austin Hanser, Nicholas Heffernan, Bailey Hoffman, Jason Howell, Amanda Hunter*, Malin Johansson*, Cole Johnson*, Daniel Johnson*, Brittani Jones*, Chase Kaufman, Ashley Kautzman*, Laura Kearney*, Emily King, Scott Kitchen, Charlie Knowlton*, Cassie Kouba*, Robin Kraft*, Taylor Kufeld, Jami Lane, Dominic Lloyd-Randolfi, Laurene Luis*, Austin Mapston*, Leah McCord*, Megan McInelly, Rachel McLain*, Frederick Mehling, Shannon Merrill*, Kirsty Montignani, Kimberly Mosher, John Mulford, Tahani Nelson*, Travis Newman, Sarah Nitschke*, Samantha Northrop, Nikita Olson, Barbara Parod*, Robin Patrick, Jessica Pocha, Matthew Radue, Emily Rapacz, Karen Rehbein, Janie Rife, Jubal Rife, Sarah Rittenhouse, Mollie Rose, Caden Rottrup*, Micaela Scally, Christopher Scoles*, Chelse Scott, William Scott*, Katherine Sizemore, Emil Soderberg, Ambri Stein, LeeAnne Storey*, Patricia Strending*, Megan Tenney*, Megan Thees, Hyla Thompson, Ty Thoreson, Jason Tobin, Bjorn Tuaz Torchon*, Alex Urbanski, Andras Varhelyi, Erica Wall*, John Wall, Emme Warsinske*, Amelia Whaley*, Jeremy Whelchel*, Korinne Wilkerson, Carla Williams*, Brennan Zotovich*; Colstrip: Kayla Baisch; Columbus: Daniel Parod, Aaron Wolters; Emigrant: Tyler DeGraaf, Glendive: Jennifer Haas*, Katelyn Peterson; Hardin: Kasha Caprata*, John Joyce*; Huntley: Bethany Moullet*; Laurel: Corey Bummer, Christopher Chapman, Jonathon Hill, Jake Knaub, William Lowery*, Travis Mummey*, Toryn Rogers*, Greg Spina*, Sonya Stahl, Vincent Tizono; Livingston: Allanda Lattin; Malta: Kelli French*; Martinsdale: Konnor Scally*; Miles City: Katherine Patch; Nye: Sharon McCave*; Park City: Peter Goettlich, Jordan Henke*, Leah Sticka-Adams; Peerless: Taisha Rocha; Red Lodge: Delaney Hardy, Elizabeth Hellerud, Michael Schilz*; Roberts: Zane Holdbrook*; Roundup: Jerome Rangitsch*, Holly Todd*; Shepherd: Jillian Stanek*, Jonathon Sutton; Silesia: Muriel Cole; Terry: Kyle Tusler*; Worden: BrieAnna Geck, Jenae Ziegler; Cody, Wyo.: Brittany Myers*; Greybull, Wyo.: Cheyenne Wiley; Powell, Wyo.: Hannah Groves; Sheridan, Wyo.: Shelby Garrison.

Copyright 2014 The Billings Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Billings Gazette

Popular Stories

Get weekly ads via e-mail

Deals & Offers

Featured Businesses