2014-05-19T00:00:00Z Achievers The Billings Gazette
May 19, 2014 12:00 am

In the service

Air Force Airman Lee A. Busch graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas. Busch is the son of Lee Busch, of Forsyth, and Michelle Busch, of Goodyear, Ariz.


Shining Mountain Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution installed new officers for the 2014-2016 term. They are: Anita Simonsen, regent; Fay Danielsen, vice regent; Linda Luse, chaplain; Robin Richter, recording secretary; Pat Ward, corresponding secretary; Kathie Kirkpatrick, registrar; Jean Gubser, historian; Heidi Graves, librarian; and Louise Palm, parliamentarian. Shining Mountain Chapter was organized Feb. 22, 1918, and is a nonprofit, nonpolitical volunteer women's service organization dedicated to promoting patriotism, preserving American history and securing America's future through better education for children. More information can be found on the Chapter’s website at or at the National Society’s website:

In the schools

The Student Financial Services Office (SFS) within the Montana University System has offered the Montana University System Honor Scholarship to Billings-area students. This is a renewable scholarship offered by the Montana Board of Regents that waives undergraduate tuition for up to eight semesters at any campus of the Montana University System or Dawson, Flathead Valley or Miles community colleges.

Students offered this scholarship must be graduates of an accredited Montana high school with a minimum grade point average of 3.4 at the end of their seventh semester in high school, take either the ACT or SAT standardized test, meet college preparatory requirements and attend an eligible campus. Students offered the scholarship include:

Absarokee High — Taylor Flynn; Billings Central Catholic High — Mark Bruschwein, Bryce Hawbaker and Matthew Selensky; Billings Senior High — Bobbi Bjordahl, Benjamin Collins, Devon Goldhammer, Sara Heard, Kiara Kober, Gabrial Mathews, Blaque Saur, Eli Sutherland, Carter Webber and Jacob Woodring; Billings Skyview High — Marisa Barthuly, Trevor Brooks, Nicole Evans, Ashlee Frank, Morgan Julian and Skylar Passon; Billings West High — Rachael Cohen, Jessica Dutton, Zachary Funyak, Brennan Hawsey, Konner Howell, Thomas Marts, Parker Pearsall, Christian Reinker, Aaron Scherr, Hope Watts and Jennifer Zundel; Broadview High — Morgan Beckett; Columbus High — Eva Hover, Jonathan Milliken and Haley Teske; Huntley Project High (Worden) — Amanda Jarrett; Joliet High — Tyrel Hoferer and April Seymour; Laurel High — Tyler Holliday, Ira Li and Lauren Studiner; Park City High — Codi Rogers; Red Lodge High — William Haman and Kristopher Schaff; Shepherd High — Kyle Johnson and Shay Shelhamer.

Corie Neugebauer, of Billings, a student from Concordia College in Moorhead, Minn., is taking part in a study abroad program this summer in Santorini, Greece. The Summer School Abroad program is designed to enhance learning and includes on-campus courses and an off-campus travel seminar led by Concordia faculty. The courses contain background information necessary to understand and appreciate the travel experience of various countries and academic disciplines.

Billings Central Catholic High’s music groups performed at Broadwater High School and Carroll College and then at the Regional Music in the Parks Music Festival where the students took home eight awards and were regionally ranked in seven categories. Awards included: Jazz Choir — Superior Rating and first overall; Mixed Choir — Superior rating and first overall; Concert Band — Excellent rating and first overall; Jazz Band — Excellent rating and first overall; Chamber Orchestra — Excellent rating and first overall; Outstanding Jazz Group and Regional Overall Award, and Outstanding Concert Band and Regional Overall Award. The Music Department also received the Esprit De Corps Award, the highest award you can receive at the festival.

Shelby Lyn Kramer and Susan Elizabeth Metzger, both of Billings, were recognized with Carroll College’s Bishop Gilmore Memorial Award for Outstanding Scholarship, awarded to seniors who have attained the highest grade point average after four years at Carroll, Nine graduates received the award.

Danae Alyssa Lenz, of Billings, graduated with a bachelor of journalism from the College of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Anthony Keene has been named to the dean’s list at the University of Dayton, Ohio, for spring semester with a 3.83 GPA.

Billings students graduating from Oregon State University in Corvallis, Ore., in June include Lysbeth A. Ackerman, bachelor of science, cum laude, forest management; Lexi P. Coons, master of science, water resources science; Mark E. Greene, bachelor of science, electrical and computer engineering, and David K. Woods, master of health physics, radiation health physics.

Heather N. Curry, of Yellowstone County, is on the spring chancellor’s honor roll at the University of Tennessee in Martin, Tenn.

Local students graduated from Gonzaga University in Spokane, Wash. They are Brynn Burke, of Billings, bachelor of business administration in business administration; Logan Daines, of Billings, bachelor of arts in Spanish; Jessica Dringman, of Billings, bachelor of business administration in business administration; Claire Kornegay, of Billings, bachelor of business administration in business administration; Jeremy Wolf, of Billings, graduated with a bachelor of arts in English, and Tara Zinnecker, of Billings, bachelor of science in nursing; Cortney Lynde, of Red Lodge, bachelor of science in human physiology, and Annika Stampfel, of Red Lodge, bachelor of arts in English.

Billings students attending Seattle Pacific University in Seattle, Wash., have earned a place on the winter quarter dean’s list. They are Zachary Joseph Dedekind, Coram Harwood Parker and Mariel Danielle Rieland.

Amanda Bastian has earned a masters of arts in speech-language pathology from the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley, Colo.

Jake Brown, of Billings, was part of a team of University of Montana students who traveled to New York City to a national conference as part of the Montana Model United Nations Team. As a team, they won an award for representing the Pacific island nation of Fiji. The team visited Fiji’s diplomatic mission to the U.N., attended talks by national and international policymakers including Samantha Power, U.S. ambassador to the U.N., and held closing ceremonies at U.N. headquarters. Brown, a senior majoring in political science and Arabic, was on the General Assembly First Committee (Peace and Security).

Jenni Pehler, of Billings, received her degree in psychology from the University of Jamestown in Jamestown, N.D.

Dalton Smith, of Billings, graduated from Dakota Wesleyan University, Mitchell, S.D, with a bachelor of arts degree in sport, exercise and wellness with minors in business and coaching.

Samuel Faust, of Columbus, has been named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at the University of Jamestown in Jamestown, N.D.

Sara Bonk, a sophomore at New Mexico State University in Las Cruces, N.M., has been named a Crimson Scholar and earned a place on the dean’s honors list, placing in the top 15 percent of the students. Bonk was accepted in the study abroad program and will attend Barcelona University this coming summer. She is majoring in English, Spanish and English as a second language.

Local students have graduated from Minot State University in Minot, N.D. Leah Hess, of Billings, received a master's of science degree in management, and Carl Reinholz, of Molt, earned a bachelor of science degree in corporate fitness.

Copyright 2014 The Billings Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Billings Gazette

Popular Stories

Get weekly ads via e-mail

Featured Businesses