Fire restrictions in place in 24 Montana counties

2012-07-03T13:54:00Z Fire restrictions in place in 24 Montana countiesThe Associated Press The Associated Press
July 03, 2012 1:54 pm  • 

HELENA — The Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation says fire restrictions are in place in all or parts of 24 counties where there is a wildfire threat.

That includes every county in the tinder-dry southern part of the state. It also extends to Lewis and Clark County in the west and Dawson, Prairie and Wibaux counties in the east.

State officials say about a dozen counties, including Yellowstone County, also have imposed fireworks bans, though most public July 4 fireworks displays are scheduled to proceed.

Most of the 24 counties are under Stage I restrictions that prohibit campfires, charcoal grills and smoking outside of a building or vehicle.

All or parts of eight counties are under Stage II restrictions, which also limit the use of engine-powered equipment, explosives and firearms.

Here is a list of the counties and the type of restrictions they were under as of Wednesday:

— Beaverhead: Stage I

— Big Horn: Stage I

— Broadwater: Stage I

— Carbon: Stage II

— Carter: Stage I

— Custer: Stage I

— Dawson: Stage I

— Deer Lodge (parts): Stage I

— Gallatin: Stage I

— Granite (parts) : Stage I

— Jefferson: Stage I

— Lewis and Clark: Stage I

— Madison: Stage I, with parts Stage II

— Musselshell: Stage II

— Park: Stage I, with parts Stage II

— Powder River: Stage I

— Prairie: Stage I

— Rosebud: Stage I

— Silver Bow (parts): Stage I

— Stillwater: Stage II

— Sweet Grass: Stage II

— Treasure: Stage II

— Wibaux: Stage I

— Yellowstone: Stage II

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Billings Gazette

Popular Stories

Get weekly ads via e-mail

Deals & Offers

Featured Businesses