USDA OKs drought aid for counties in Montana and Wyoming

2013-04-10T19:23:00Z 2013-04-10T22:37:05Z USDA OKs drought aid for counties in Montana and WyomingThe Associated Press The Associated Press
April 10, 2013 7:23 pm  • 

DENVER — The U.S. Department of Agriculture has approved new designations allowing farmers and ranchers around the West to seek federal aid to get through the drought.

Every Wyoming county has received a designation as a primary or contiguous county eligible for aid. The six Montana counties on Wyoming's northern border also were approved Wednesday as contiguous counties eligible for help.

All but a handful of Colorado's 64 counties have been designated this crop year as either primary natural disaster areas due to drought or as contiguous to those counties.

The USDA on Wednesday approved contiguous county designations for Jackson, Larimer, Logan, Moffat, Phillips, Routt, Sedgwick, Weld and Yuma counties, making producers there eligible to be considered for emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Follow The Billings Gazette

Popular Stories

Get weekly ads via e-mail

Featured Businesses