Frontier honors 10 RMC players, coach Armstrong

2013-11-27T16:29:00Z 2013-11-27T18:43:04Z Frontier honors 10 RMC players, coach ArmstrongGazette Staff The Billings Gazette
November 27, 2013 4:29 pm  • 

Ten Rocky Mountain College football players have been selected for all-Frontier Conference honors, and Battlin' Bear head coach Brian Armstrong has been chosen as the league's coach of the year.

Six Rocky players -- quarterback Bryce Baker, wide receiver Andre McCullouch, offensive linemen Sonny Ah Kui and Neal Coon, linebacker Travis Bertelsen and placekicker Ryan Steska -- were recognized as first-team picks.

Ah Kui, a senior, was a repeat choice on the first team.

Coon and Bertelsen are seniors, while Baker and Steska are juniors and McCullouch is a sophomore.

Rocky defensive lineman Brendon Johnson, linebackers Jacob Barit and Josh Johnson and defensive back Kyle Mai were second-team selections.

Barit and Josh Johnson are seniors, Mai is a sophomore and Brendon Johnson is a freshman.

McCullouch, Bertelsen and Josh Johnson earned second-team honors a year ago.

Armstrong, in his fifth season at Rocky, directed the Bears to a second-place finish in the Frontier and Rocky advanced to postseason play for the first time since 1999.

He was also the conference's coach of the year in 2010.

The all-conference teams were voted on by the Frontier coaches and were released by the league on Wednesday afternoon.

Southern Oregon University's junior quarterback Austin Dodge was named the league's offensive player of the year for the second straight year, while Carroll College's junior linebacker Sean Blomquist of Helena earned defensive honors.

League champion Carroll placed 11 players on the first-team offense, defense and special teams. The Saints had 16 players recognized overall, including Laurel's Sean Condon (first team, defensive line), Billings' Decker Roberts (second team, defensive line) and Miles City's Ryan Armstrong (second team, offensive line).



Copyright 2015 The Billings Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More from the Gazette

L-C State holds off Rocky men

January 24, 2015 10:55 pmLoading…

Rocky men roll past Montana Tech

January 22, 2015 10:10 pmLoading…

Rocky women shut down Tech

January 22, 2015 8:40 pmLoading…
Small college notebook: MSU Northern lighting it up

Small college notebook: MSU Northern lighting it up

January 20, 2015 10:45 pmLoading…

Rocky skiers sweep Grand Teton Conference event

January 19, 2015 5:08 pmLoading…
Svedberg, Hogbom win again on Red Lodge slopes

Svedberg, Hogbom win again on Red Lodge slopes

January 18, 2015 7:10 pmLoading…

Nyby sparks Rocky Mountain men

January 17, 2015 10:32 pmLoading…

Rocky ski teams at Red Lodge

January 16, 2015 3:10 pmLoading…

Rocky women battle back, but fall in the end to Argos

January 15, 2015 11:15 pmLoading…

Johnson, Gondeiro post wins

January 10, 2015 11:06 pmLoading…

Westminster rolls past Rocky women

January 10, 2015 7:58 pmLoading…

UM Western rallies past Rocky

January 08, 2015 10:43 pmLoading…

Rocky women roll to easy win

January 08, 2015 10:13 pmLoading…

Follow The Billings Gazette

Popular Stories

Get weekly ads via e-mail

Deals & Offers

Featured Businesses