Rocky salutes its top athletes

2013-04-25T12:35:00Z 2013-04-26T00:09:35Z Rocky salutes its top athletes The Billings Gazette

Bjorn Tuaz and Kirsty Montagnani of Rocky Mountain College were recognized as the school's outstanding senior male and female athletes during the Battlin' Bears' annual athletic awards ceremony on Wednesday night in the Losekamp Hall auditorium.

In receiving the awards named in honor of Herb and Clara Klindt, Tuaz was a member of Rocky's ski-racing team, while Montagnani competed in women's soccer.

The Frank and Helen Mathew awards, given to the school's top-performing underclassmen, were presented to Oliver Gore (men's soccer) and Anna Dewald (volleyball).

Cross country and track star Noah Kiprono received the DeRosier Award, which is given to the athlete who best exemplifies the "spirit" of Rocky.

Lauren Brophy, who played soccer at Rocky, was the recipient of the Presidents Award, which honors an athlete for leadership on the field, classroom and community.

Men's soccer player Mikey Wall was singled out for the Champion of Character Award, which is given to the student-athlete who best embraces the NAIA's five core values of respect, integrity, responsibility, servant leadership and sportsmanship.

The awards were voted on by the coaching staff at Rocky.





Copyright 2015 The Billings Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More from the Gazette

L-C State holds off Rocky men

January 24, 2015 10:55 pmLoading…

Rocky men roll past Montana Tech

January 22, 2015 10:10 pmLoading…

Rocky women shut down Tech

January 22, 2015 8:40 pmLoading…
Small college notebook: MSU Northern lighting it up

Small college notebook: MSU Northern lighting it up

January 20, 2015 10:45 pmLoading…

Rocky skiers sweep Grand Teton Conference event

January 19, 2015 5:08 pmLoading…
Svedberg, Hogbom win again on Red Lodge slopes

Svedberg, Hogbom win again on Red Lodge slopes

January 18, 2015 7:10 pmLoading…

Nyby sparks Rocky Mountain men

January 17, 2015 10:32 pmLoading…

Rocky ski teams at Red Lodge

January 16, 2015 3:10 pmLoading…

Rocky women battle back, but fall in the end to Argos

January 15, 2015 11:15 pmLoading…

Johnson, Gondeiro post wins

January 10, 2015 11:06 pmLoading…

Westminster rolls past Rocky women

January 10, 2015 7:58 pmLoading…

UM Western rallies past Rocky

January 08, 2015 10:43 pmLoading…

Rocky women roll to easy win

January 08, 2015 10:13 pmLoading…

Follow The Billings Gazette

Popular Stories

Get weekly ads via e-mail

Deals & Offers

Featured Businesses