Lyle Knight

Lyle Knight is president of First Interstate Bank in Billings.

First Interstate Bank President and CEO Lyle Knight will receive the Good Scout Award on Thursday evening during a gala celebrating 100 years of the Boy Scouts of America.

"It is a true honor for an organization as profound as the Boy Scouts of America to honor me," Knight said. "I'm just very overwhelmed just by the thought of it."

Events begin at 6:30 p.m. at the Crowne Plaza. Tickets are $75 and be purchased by calling the Billings Boy Scouts office at 259-4513. Registration also is available at montanabsgala.charityhappenings.org.

During the event, 43 scouts who achieved the rank of Eagle Scout in 2010 also will be honored.

Knight is past president of the Western Region of the Boy Scouts of America and currently serves as director of the BSA national executive board.

"This award recognizes Knight as exemplifying and personifying the values, standards and characteristics of a good scout," said Case Haslam, endowment and finance director for the Montana Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

It also recognizes Knight's community leadership and commitment to providing opportunities for kids to participate in scouting.

He has been active with Boy Scouts of America for years and has seen two sons and a grandson achieve the rank of Eagle Scout.

"Kids learn in different ways, but we have found one of the most effective ways to impart values and ldrship skills is to be around the campfire and looking up the stars," Knight said.

The award will be presented by Frank McAllister, CEO of Stillwater Mining Co., who also is an active scouting leader and volunteer.

Jim Rogers, CEO of Kampgrounds of America will serve as the evening's master of ceremonies.

Both men serve with Knight on the BSA national board, as does Wyo-Ben CEO David Brown.

In the last year, 38 Billings-area youth and five additional young men from the extended area (including Sidney, Glendive and Lewistown) achieved the rank of Eagle Scout.

"To be there with a bunch of young men who are receiving their Eagle Scout award is even more of an honor," Knight said.

There were a record 52,000 Eagle Scouts nationwide last year, even while overall scout numbers have stayed steady at 4 million.

"But the kids in the program seem to be getting better each year," Knight said.

Achieving Eagle Scout rank requires including earning 21 merit badges in areas like first aid, citizenship, fitness, emergency preparedness and family life. They also must demonstrate leadership and personal responsibility by organizing and executing a service project that is helpful to a community, school or religious institution.

The Eagles Scouts being honored Thursday are:

Joey Anderson

Spencer Bailey

Levi Bence

Sheldon Benedict

David Besel

Dillon Bray

Dustin Connolly

Kody Crockett

Brady Davis

Joshua Francisco

Diedrick George

Matthew Grosso

Neil Haley

Russell Hanson

Andrew Hart

Ryan Hensleigh

Steve Hultgren

Ryan Huntington

Aaron Jacobsen

Justin Kostelecky

Cole Krenik

Kyle Krenik

Dustin Lenz

David Lindenbaum

Corey Longbottom

Aaron Lyon

Ryan Mack

Malcolm McBurney

Benjamin McLaws

Ian Nagel

Shawn Pattee

Spencer Scala

Michael Schweigert

Jesse Skipper

Kasey Smith

Dallin Stott

Blake Studiner

Bruce Tall

Jared Thomason

David Walz

Alexander Wambach

Zachary Zaccardi

Colton Zaugg


Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.