Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Four Montana State University-Billings faculty members have been honored for their excellence in teaching, research and service to the campus and the community.

The recipients of the 2002 Faculty Achievement Awards are:

Walter Gulick, professor of philosophy, humanities, and religious studies.

Tony Hecimovic, assistant professor of educational theory and practice.

Tasneem Khaleel, department chair and professor of biology.

Patricia Vettel-Becker, assistant professor of art history, received the Winston and Helen Cox Fellowship, which is awarded annually to a junior faculty member in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Professors are nominated by members of the community, faculty, staff or students to receive the award. A campus committee receives and screens all applications and nominations. Selection is based on the contribution of the professor in the classroom, in the community and within professional fields of expertise.

MSU-Billings Chancellor Ron Sexton makes the final selection of faculty members to receive recognition.

In addition to the Outstanding Faculty Achievement awards, students of MSU-Billings annually honor professors with the ASMSU-Billings Student Government award.

Faculty selected for this year's ASMSU-Billings Student Government award include:

Gary Amundson, director of the Outreach Program for the College of Business;.

Gary Behm, department chair and professor of music.

Carl Castles, assistant professor of biology.

Alan Davis, professor of special education, counseling, reading, and early childhood.

Barbara Pedula, general education instructor at the College of Technology.

Gulick Hecimovic Khaleel Vettel-Becker