In the schools

Sule Whitlock, of Billings, recently graduated from Pacific University with a master's degree in social work.


The Billings Golden K Kiwanis Club recently installed its 2018-2019 board.

Ellen Smith was installed as president. Other officers for the 2018-2019 year are John Koppelman, president elect, Susan Keene, secretary, Bud Leuthold, treasurer, and Colleen Cooper, immediate past president.

Other board members are Jean Russell, Donna Beutler, Arloa Weiss, Dione Smith, Bob Bales and Bob Keene.

Additionally, Steve Simonson was named Golden K Kiwanian of the Year for his involvement with many Kiwanis youth activities and projects. He served as President for the 2016 -2017 year and has assisted in getting the three Billings Kiwanis Clubs organized to work together to accomplish common objectives.

The Golden K Kiwanis Club meets for fellowship, business meetings and program speakers at 9:30 a.m. on Mondays at the Elks Club. Kiwanis is a volunteer global organization dedicated to improving the world one child and one community at a time. All projects center around assisting Billings youth. Anyone interested is encouraged to attend a meeting or call 696-7099 for more information.


In the schools

The University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences in Fargo recently named the recipients of more than $630,000 in awards and scholarships awarded to 110 UND medical students for the 2018-2019 academic year. Shauna Newton, of Billings, received an Academic Achievement Award.

James McGarvin, a student majoring in engineering at Montana State University in Bozeman, was recently selected for membership in the National Society of Leadership and Success. Originally from Billings, McGarvin is a 2012 graduate of Lewistown High.



The Wildwood Cloggers recently competed at 2018 USA National Clogging Championships in Nashville.

Overall Grand Champion Amateur Team was awarded to Wildwood’s Senior Team, consisting of members Karter Bernhardt, Anna Kraft, Ashley Feller, Gabriella Leer, Emily Wood, all of Billings; Kaylee Jellison of Laurel; and Tabbatha Gebhard, of Park City.

Other results are listed below.

Senior Team results:

Amateur Small Team: first place

Amateur Line Team: first place; overall division winner

Amateur Exhibition Team: second place

Amateur Formation Line: first place; overall division winner

Amateur Acapella: second place

Amateur 4 or more Couple Precision: second place

Amateur Show Team: second place

Masters Traditional Line: third place

Masters Formation Traditional Line: fifth place

Masters Small Team: fourth place

Results for the Junior Team, consisting of Trig Moler, Dakota Watkins, Kailey Green, Mikayla Ramsey, Molly Forney, Jade Elton, Dylan Edwards, Paige Gershmel and Kenadie Berg, are:

Amateur Traditional Line: second place

Amateur Formation Traditional Line: third place

Amateur Small Team: second place

Amateur Formation Line: third place

Amateur 4 or more Couple Precision: fourth place

Results for individuals in age division 12-14 are:

Trig Moler, first place, Male Amateur Contemporary Solo

Emily Wood: third place, Masters Acapella

Results for individuals in age division 15-19 are:

Karter Bernhardt: first place, Masters Acapella Solo; second place, Male Masters Contemporary Solo

Karter Bernhardt and Gabriella Leer: second place, Masters Short Duet

Karter Bernhardt and Kaylee Jellison: first place, Amateur Acapella Duet

Ashley Feller and Tabbatha Gebhard: third place, Amateur Acapella Duet


In the schools

Sarah Bonner, of Billings, was named to the spring 2018 dean’s list at Eastern Oregon University. To qualify, students must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5.

Montana State University Billings students Ellen Kuntz and David Ballew have received scholarships from the German government to study abroad in Germany during the fall 2018 semester.

Kuntz was awarded a Baden-Württemberg-Stipendium of $2,400 to study at Ludwigsburg University of Education.

Ballew was awarded a Baden-Württemberg-Stipendium of $2,500 to study in Nürtingen-Geislingen University of Applied Science and a $2,500 scholarship from the Marine Core Scholarship Foundation.

Kyra Brockhausen, a junior at Central High, was selected to attend the recent Joe Louis Barrow Jr. Life Skills and Leadership Academy in East Lansing, Michigan. Brockhausen joined more than 90 junior golfers, age 14-7, to participate in the event. For more information, go to


Dick Zier, Ralph and Marlene Saunders, Stacy Molt and First Interstate Bank employees were named Big Sky State Games 2018 Osborne Volunteers of the Year.

The award is named after Tom Osborne, Big Sky State Games founder and executive director from 1986-1996, and his family.

Melissa Romick Tilley, of Billings, was recently named the winner of the Fifth Annual Big Sky State Games Photo Contest, for her youth soccer photo submission.

Mark Olsen, of Billings, won the silver medal for a photo of mountain bike/enduro.

John Lamb, of Billings, won the bronze medal for his photograph of the torch-lighting at opening ceremonies.

The winning images will also be entered in the National Congress of State Games National Photo Contest.

The three winners were recently honored at a Big Sky State Games 2018 celebration event during a Mustangs baseball game.

For more information about BSSG's award winners, go to


In the schools

Malia Gesuale, a 2015 West High graduate, was named to the dean's list at Columbia University. To qualify, students must earn a minimum grade point average of 3.6. Gesuale is a senior at Columbia University.

Madeleine Duncan and William Schuman-Kline, both of Billings, were named to the 2017-2018 dean’s list at Lawrence University in Appleton, Wisconsin. To qualify, students must earn a minimum grade point average of 3.4.


The Yellowstone Genealogy Forum elected officers during its recent annual meeting. Elected were: P.J. Smith, president; Bobbie Meyers, corresponding secretary; Kay Cahill, program coordinator; Robin Sparboe, recording secretary; and Laura Haefer, treasurer.

Others serving on the Executive Board are: George Mowat, publicity; Shawna Valentine, membership; Diane Ascheman, newsletter; Irene Nelson, genealogy room librarian; and Verba Valentine, MSGS representative.

The forum presents family history programs on the fourth Tuesday of the month, to instruct and encourage members on genealogy research. The public is invited. For more information, go to