Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

Regents approve new COT names

  • Updated
  • 0

It’s official.

The Montana State University Billings College of Technology has a new name — City College at Montana State University Billings.

Meeting in Havre Friday, the Montana Board of Regents voted to change the names of the state’s colleges of technology, which began as vocational-technical schools, to those that more correctly reflect their evolution into comprehensive community colleges.

The other COTs’ new names are: Helena College University of Montana, Missoula College University of Montana, Highlands College of Montana Tech.

Two other two-year programs in Bozeman and Hamilton will be called  Gallatin College Montana State University and Bitterroot College University of Montana.

The board voted to study the proposed name for the current Great Falls College of Technology for another month, and perhaps come up with an alternative to the "Great Falls College MSU" proposal.

Implementing the new names will be completed by the end of June 2013, according to the resolution.

Renaming the schools is part of an effort that began in 2005 to transform the colleges into true community colleges that prepare students to transfer to four-year campuses and offer workforce development training, adult basic education and lifelong learning classes.

The effort was accelerated by the Lumina-Foundation funded College!Now Initiative to increase the number of Montanans with degrees and certificates. Montana is 45th in the country in the percentage of adults 25 and older who have had any post-high school education.





* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News