Skip to main content

Park County School District 1


160 N Evarts
Powell, WY 82435

Last Updated: December 10, 2013


About Park County School District 1

Park County School District #1 is located in Northwest Wyoming bordered by Montana on the North and Yellowstone Park on the West. The Powell community is primarily agricultural with beans, sugar beets, oats, barley, corn and alfalfa being the principal crops grown in the area. The area is also known for its cattle production. Most of the county's wealth lies below ground in oil and natural gas reserves. Fishing, hiking, hunting, river rafting, water skiing, scenic drives, snowmobiling, biking, golf, horseback riding, camping, boating, cross country and downhill skiing are just a few of the recreational activities. The East entrance to Yellowstone Park is seventy-five miles away. Billings, Montana (90 miles North) is the closest major city. Northwest College, founded in 1946, a two-year comprehensive community college offering transfer, occupational and adult education programs is located in Powell. Education has been strongly supported by the Powell community since opening its first classroom in 1908. Park County School District #1 encompasses a geographical area of slightly over 1,400 square miles and includes the communities of Powell, Clark, Garland and Ralston. The District operates with seven attendance centers which include: Clark Elementary School, Parkside Elementary School, Southside Elementary School, Westside Elementary School, Powell Middle School, Powell High School and Shoshone Learning Center. With the exception of Clark Elementary (located in the community of Clark), all are within the city limits of Powell. Current K-12 enrollment is 1,600+ students.

Other Information

Is this your business?

Promote your business through our innovative Marketplace system! It's free to sign up!

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News