The Indoor Football League announced the 24 franchises that will be competing for the 2010 United Bowl on Tuesday.

Returning to the league are the defending champions Billings Outlaws, as well as the Abilene Ruff Riders, Alaska Wild, Bloomington Extreme, Colorado Ice, Corpus Christi Hammerheads, El Paso Generals, Fairbanks Grizzlies, Maryland Maniacs, Odessa Roughnecks, Omaha Beef, Rochester Raiders, San Angelo Stampede, Sioux City Bandits, Sioux Falls Storm, West Michigan ThunderHawks -- previously known as the Muskegon Thunder which have changed their name and moved their franchise to Grand Rapids, Michigan-- and Wichita Wild.

In addition to the returning league members, the IFL has also added seven new franchises to the league. Among these new franchises are three expansion teams - the Arctic Predators, La Crosse Spartans, and Richmond Revolution - and 4 teams making the transition from other indoor leagues - Amarillo Dusters, Austin Turfcats, Chicago Slaughter, and Green Bay Blizzard.

"We are excited about the 2010 IFL season and are eager to begin play in the spring" stated IFL Commissioner Tommy Benizio. "The mixture of the 17 returning teams and the seven new franchises will only add to the quality of play and continue to make the IFL America's premier indoor football league."

Here is a little information on the IFL's newest additions:

Arctic Predators -- The Predators join the IFL as an expansion franchise from Wasilla, Alaska. They are the third team from Alaska competing in the IFL. A scheduled press conference for early next week will give more details on this franchise.

Amarillo Dusters-- The Dusters are entering their 7th season of indoor football and join the IFL after achieving success in both the Intense Football League and the af2. In their inaugural season the Dusters won the 2004 Intense Bowl while participating in the Intense Football League.

Austin Turfcats -- The Turfcats join the IFL after being a charter member of the Southern Indoor Football League's inaugural 2009 season. In their first season of play, the Turfcats posted a 10-3 record and made it to the SIFL league championship game

Chicago Slaughter --

The Slaughter are entering their 4th season of indoor football. The previous 3 seasons the Slaughter have competed in the Continental Indoor Football League and in 2009 finished the season undefeated while capturing the CIFL championship.

Green Bay Blizzard -- The Blizzard are entering their 8th season of indoor football and join the IFL after competing in the af2. The Blizzard have achieved tremendous success, making the playoffs 5 out of the 7 years of their existence. In addition, the Blizzard are under new and experienced ownership for the 2010 season.

La Crosse Spartans-- The Spartans join the IFL as an expansion franchise. Their inaugural season will be played at the La Crosse Center in La Crosse, Wisconsin. Former NFL player Gilbert Brown will lead the team as head coach.

Richmond Revolution -- The Revolution join the IFL as an expansion franchise. Their inaugural season will be played at the Arthur Ashe Athletic Center in Richmond, Virginia before moving to the new SportsQuest arena in nearby Chesterfield, Virginia in 2011.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Ryan Minch is a sports staffer at The Billings Gazette.