Subscribe for 17¢ / day
Malta's Sophia Stiles

Two-time Montana Gatorade girls basketball player of the year Sophia Stiles of Malta has been chosen for the Montana roster in the annual Midland Roundtable all-star basketball series with Wyoming.

Three players from Billings have been chosen to the Montana boys roster for the Midland Roundtable Montana-Wyoming all-star basketball series.

Rosters were released Thursday at the monthly meeting of the Midland Roundtable at the Red Lion Hotel Convention Center Billings.

Twins Bryson Deming and Braydon Deming of West, who will both play football at Montana, are on the boys team. Roundtable officials said they believe it is the first time twins have been selected for a Treasure State boys team. Skyview's RayQuan Evans, who will play at Rocky Mountain College, also was chosen.

The Montana Gatorade Player of the Year in boys and girls basketball were repeat winners this season and both were selected.

Great Falls' Brendan Howard, who will play for Eastern Washington, averaged 24.1 points and 10.5 rebounds per game and was a three-time All-State selection. Howard led the classification in scoring and was second in rebounding. He is the only player in Class AA history to score 2,000 points in his career.

Malta's Sophia Stiles, who will suit up for the Lady Griz, averaged 21.8 points, 6.6 rebounds, 5.7 assists, 4.3 steals and 1.1 blocks through 23 games. She was a three-time All-State selection and MVP of the 2015 State B tourney.

Natalie Klinker of Class B state champion Fairfield becomes the third Klinker sister in the series, joining Molly and Liz. Natalie, who averaged 16.6 ppg and 9.2 rpg in the regular season, will play at Idaho. 

The games are June 9-10. On June 9, the contests will be played at Sheridan (Wyo.) College and on June 10 at Rocky Mountain College. The girls tip off at 5:30 p.m. and the boys at 7:30 p.m. 

The is the 21st year of the girls series and Montana leads 27-13 after splitting last season. Montana has won 14 of the last 18 against the Cowboy State. Rocky Mountain College women's coach Wes Keller will again lead the Montana girls. 

"We have a well-balanced team," Midland Roundtable representative Richard Begger said. "That is the key to our team this year.

"We have a very-well balanced mix and some great shooters." 

It will be the 42nd year for the boys, with the Treasure State leading 55-27. Steve Keller, the head men's coach at Montana Western, will guide the boys team. Montana has won 10 in a row and Keller's teams are 10-0 in the series.

"We have good size and perimeter players. We feel like we have a real good mix," Midland Roundtable representative Doug Dierenfield said. "We try to do that. We don't get all the point guards or all the bigs."

Tiahna Johnson of Kalispell Flathead led Class AA in scoring this year at 17.1 ppg. She will play for Sacramento State. Hannah Collins of Great Falls was second in the state in scoring at 16.2 ppg. 

Other players on the Montana girls roster are: Nikki Krueger, Kalispell Glacier, will play at Carroll; Rianna Rogers, Bozeman, Rocky Mountain College; Mollie Peoples, Butte Central, Montana Tech; Kiara Burlage, Columbia Falls, Lewis-Clark State; Madisan Chavez, Hardin, undecided; and Natalie Hilderman, Red Lodge, Rocky Mountain College (volleyball).

"We have some very well-rounded athletes from post players to the 3- and 4-spot players," Begger said. "It's just a very well-balanced team and a lot of energy in the group. They will compete well."

Other players on the Montana boys roster are: Tyler Tanner, Arlee, undecided; Nate Costin, Malta, undecided; Tanner Haverfield, Dillon, Montana Western; Drew Huse, Bozeman, undecided; Troy Andersen, Dillon, Montana State, football; and Jaxen Hashley, Kalispell Glacier, Montana State, football. Hashley (AA), Haverfield (A) and Costin (B) were all state-tourney MVPs.

"We always look for guys who are able to defend down low," Dierenfield said. "They can also defend in the baseline and on the key."

The Wyoming boys and girls rosters will be announced later. The Wyoming girls will be led by new Sheridan College women's coach Ryan Davis. The boys coach will Matt Hammer of Sheridan.


Deputy Sports Editor

Sports writer for The Billings Gazette.