Subscribe for 17¢ / day

The Gazette published its yearly Top 10 and Honorable Mention list Dec. 27 and the state wrestling tournament again made it in honorable mention, quite an honor for the annual all-class extravaganza.

In another related form, what would you the wrestling world rank as your Top10 moments for Montana Wrestling in 2009?

I'd have to say the state wrestling tourney at Rimrock Auto Arena at MetraPark tops the list. I'd also have to say the T.O.C. would be somewhere in the Top 10, and also the inaugural AA Duals. Tyrel Todd finishing his career at Michigan and winning the AAU Little Sullivan for Montana might also be included. One would also have to strongly consider the rankings that MSU-Northern and UGF accumulated in the NAIA season and their finishes at the national tourney with the Lights ninth and UGF 12th. The cultural youth exchange team from Germany that traveled to and competed in Montana, including a stop at Billings West, was kind of neat as well. And what about Mike Zadick being second-ranked in the latest U.S.A. senior freestyle ratings. Then also consider the NCAA Division I wrestling dual held in Bozeman between Michigan and Oregon State that was held to promote college wrestling in Montana and drew a big crowd. Helena heavyweight champ Toby Erickson signing with Boise State might also make the list. And what about longtime Laurel resident Max Long being inducted into the University of Northern Iowa Hall of Fame along with the rest of the 1949-50 wrestling team, which won the NCAA Division I title in 1950 and the national AAU title as well. What other impressive high school moments could rank, or AAU/USAW moments, or other national tourneys for wrestlers?

In other news, Class A released a poll Dec. 22. Here it is:

Class A poll

Dec. 22

Teams - Havre, Belgrade, Frenchtown, Ronan, Glendive, Laurel, Sidney, Corvallis, Polson, Libby.


98 - Glenn Hensley, Frenchtown; Tyler Kinn, Glendive; Karson Kukes, Laurel; Lucas Conklin, Ronan; Rhett Bachoter, Belgrade; Seth McCall, Columbia Falls.

105 - Duel Stadel, Havre; Craig Feistner, Polson; Derrick Sisneros, Hamilton; Markus Malone, Corvallis; Bryce Weatherston, Belgrade; Ian Edwards-Myslicki, Libby.

112 - Clay Armstrong, Frenchtown; Kolter Kukes, Laurel; Sal Baccaro, Columbia Falls; Cody Ishler, Frenchtown; Levi Gingerich, Corvallis; Zack Smith, Havre.

119 - Tyler Stedman, Frenchtown; Jesse Griffith, Glendive; Jake Stock, Anaconda; Gene Speldrich, Sidney; Justin Whitman, Columbia Falls; Jeremy Quintero, Belgrade.

125 - Brennan Gorder, Sidney; Brett Normandy, Havre; Zach Westre, Frenchtown; Mitch Haugen, Libby; Brandon Gifford, Hardin; Drew Footy, Polson.

130 - Lane Houchen, Sidney; Travis Davis, Corvallis; Ryan Guenther, Belgrade; Dillon Seely, Havre; Dalton Rice, Whitefish; Kelby Dorn, Hardin.

135 - Cameron Neiss, Ronan; Garrett Tennant, Glendive; Jacob Young, Polson; Steven Jessop, Corvallis; Dexter Tirsk, Lewistown; Kyle Leir, Libby.

140 - Ryan Martin, Lewistown; Jayme Kelly, Sidney; Riley Nagel, Corvallis; Tommy Cooper, Laurel; Cody Elliott, Libby; Tyson Gruber, Havre.

145 - Eli Hinebaugh, Havre; Brad Nordahl, Frenchtown; Rex Martin, Lewistown; Tucker Taylor, Belgrade; Dilan Starkel, Ronan; Nick O'Dell, Whitefish.

152 - Shane Cooley, Miles City; Kent Pattison, Havre; Micky Cheff, Ronan; Dylan Kramer, Laurel; Ty Fouty, Polson; Eli Enderland, Frenchtown.

160 - Connor Malone, Lewistown; Jordan Malarchick, Belgrade; Troy Capp, Hamilton; Kameron Priby, Havre; Cole McArthur, Ronan; Troy Vezina, Dillon.

171 - Brock Picard, Polson; Levi Cade, Belgrade; Casey Schaub, Havre; Kyle Sweedman, Libby; Garrett Ceynar, Glendive; Matt Merenz, Dillon.

189 - Toby Cheff, Ronan; Skyler Carrol, Livingston; Matt Longie, Dillon; Forest Fortney, Hamilton; Austin Reyner, Belgrade; Josh Salapich, Havre.

215 - Kelly Houle, Columbia Falls; Brennan Fisher, Frenchtown; Paul Donaldson, Hamilton; Austin Boucher, Laurel; Zeke Kozlosky, Dillon; Josiah Clairmont, Polson.

Hwt. - Mitchel Schnittgen, Havre; Wes Sherman, Hamilton; Clint Robinson, Belgrade; Kaden Thomas, Polson, Chris Kurkowski, Miles City; Allen Neuleib, Sidney.