Try 1 month for $5


THE GAMES: Fairfield (8-2) at Manhattan (10-0), 1 p.m.; Cut Bank (9-1) at Bigfork (8-2), 1 p.m.

BIG NUMBERS: For Fairfield, Matt Patterson has throw for 1,239 yards and 15 TDs and rushed for 904 yards and 10 TDs.

BEEN THERE: Fairfield has reached the Class B championship game — and lost — in four of the past five years. The Eagles lost to Cut Bank in 2005, Baker in 2007 and Huntley Project in 2008 and ’09. … Cut Bank has not been back to the title game since its 2005 win over Fairfield. … Bigfork has not played in a championship game since 1995, when it lost to Frenchtown. … Neither Manhattan or Manhattan Christian has ever played in a state football championship game.


THE GAMES: Drummond (9-1) at Wibaux (10-0), 1 p.m.; Power-Dutton-Brady (9-1) at Chinook (9-1), 1 p.m.

BIG NUMBERS: For Wibaux, Collin Harrell has rushed for 1,177 yards and 19 touchdowns; and Jaylen Sokoloski has thrown for 1,283 yards, 23 TDs and only 3 interceptions. … For Power-Dutton-Brady, Eric Sievers has rushed for 829 yards and 17 TDs; and Logan Rossmiller has rushed for 672 yards and 13 TDs. Sievers also has a remarkable 20 sacks on the season. … For Chinook, Tyler Molyneaux has rushed for 1,833 yards and 34 touchdowns, both highs in the state this year; and Ben Stroh has rushed for 845 yards and 7 TDs.

BEEN THERE: Here’s a stat that shows the remarkable success of Drummond and Wibaux in recent years — today’s semifinal will mark the 11th straight year that either the Trojans or Longhorns — or both — have played in the Class C championship game. … Drummond won Class C championships in 2003, ’04, ’05, ’07 and ’09. Wibaux’s last championship came in 2001, but the Longhorns have been back to the title game four times since. … The members of the Power-Dutton-Brady co-op have played in five championship games since 1983 — Dutton won the 6-Man title in 1988, Brady was the 6-Man runner-up in 1996 and 97, and Power was the 6-Man runner-up in 1983 and 1990. … Chinook has never played in a state football championship game.


THE GAMES: Savage (10-0) at Big Sandy (9-1), 1 p.m.; Hysham (6-4) at Denton (10-0), 1 p.m.

BIG NUMBERS: For Savage, Chris Reynolds has rushed for 1,558 yards and 28 touchdowns and has 635 receiving yards with 12 TDs; and Shad Stanford has thrown for 1,265 yards and 28 TDs. For Denton, Brandon Bury has thrown for 1,195 yards, 23 TDs and just 5 interceptions; and Cole Jelinek has rushed for 1,016 yards and 21 TDs.

BEEN THERE: Denton, the 1990 6-Man champion, was the 6-Man runner-up last year — marking the time the Trojans have finished as a state runner-up. Denton lost championship games in 1985, ’86, ’87, 1989 and 1994. … Hysham won the 6-Man championship in 2007. … Savage won the Class C championship in 1984 and was the Class C runner-up in 1988. … Big Sandy was the Class C runner-up in 2003.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.