Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
AWHL joins NA3HL

AWHL joins NA3HL

  • Updated

FRISCO, Texas -- The America West Hockey League, of which the Billings Bulls are a member, is joining the North American 3 Hockey League for the 2014-15 season.

The seven-team AWHL will now represent the Frontier Division of the NA3HL according to a press release sent by the Great Falls Americans of the AWHL. The NA3HL will feature 28 teams divided into five divisions next season. 

"What a great opportunity it is for both the NA3HL and AWHL to join forces as proud members of USA Hockey in step with creating the best Tier III Junior property in the country," said NA3HL president and NAHL commissioner Mark Frankenfeld. "Even though the NA3HL is only four years young, we continue to make decisions for what is best for players that are advancing through USA Hockey's ladder of development. At one time many of the markets were members of the NAHL and it will be nice to have them back in the family."

This season the AWHL featured the Bulls, Americans, Bozeman IceDogs, Gillette (Wyo.) Wild, Glacier (Whitefish) Nationals, Helena Bighorns and Yellowstone (Cody, Wyo.) Quake.

Formal approval by USA Hockey is expected in June.



Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News