COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Montana bareback rider Larry Peabody and the Cody Stampede Rodeo will be part of a 12-member class that will be enshrined in the ProRodeo Hall of Fame in Colorado Springs, Colorado, on Aug. 3.

Peabody made five consecutive trips to the National Finals Rodeo beginning in 1981, and captured the 1984 world title in bareback riding. He also was a champion in the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association and the Montana Pro Rodeo Circuit.

The Cody Stampede Rodeo started in 1919, and will go into the Hall of Fame during its centennial year. 

"It will be a good kickoff to our celebration." Michael Darby, co-president of the Cody Stampede Board, said in a press release.

The Cody Stampede won the PRCA's Best Large Outdoor Rodeo of the Year in 1998 and 1999, and its arena was where many legends of professional rodeo got their starts, such as 1962 world champion bull rider Freckles Brown and rodeo cowboy and musician Chris LeDoux.

The other inductees include Commotion, one of the greatest bucking horses of all time, stock contractors Elra and Jiggs Beutler, four-time world champion team roping heeler Allen Bach, two-time world champion steer wrestler Dean Gorsuch, world champion bull rider Doug "Droopy" Brown, PRCA board of directors member Jerome Robinson, contract entertainer Tommy Lucia, world champion barrel racers Jimmie Gibbs Munroe and Sammy Thurman Brackenbury and WPRA all-around winner Florence (Price) Youree.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.