Subscribe for 17¢ / day

The bus carrying the Billings West softball team left Wednesday and Shelli Vicars and Jacque Walen weren't on it.

But they'll still make it to the State AA tournament today by taking an early morning flight to Kalispell which will get them there in time for the Bears' 3 p.m. game.

Vicars and Walen stayed behind to attend the Midland Roundtable's Athlete of the Year banquet. Both were nominees for the girls award, which Vicars won.

The boys award went to Skyview's Matt Lebsock.

Vicars, a three-sport standout said the award was "a big honor. It's a nice way to end my senior season."

Vicars, who is headed to Montana Tech to play basketball, was a two-year starter at point guard for the Bears. She also played volleyball and is a four-year letterwinner in softball.

Vicars is the third West girl to be honored. Rebekah Patrick won last year and Stacy Lanning in 1991.

Lebsock was a two-way performer in football for the Falcons, playing quarterback and defensive back. He was a first-team all-state selection on defense.

Lebsock, who is headed to the University of Montana on a football scholarship, also played basketball and competed in track.

"I feel great. It's a tremendous honor," Lebsock said. "It's like icing on the cake."

Former Skyview boys winners were Kane Ioane (1999), Mike Andy (1995), J.P. Williams (1994), Guy Atkins (1992) and Jeff Ellis (1991).

Girls nominees also included Keriann Lynch of Central, Jenna Schardein of Senior and Torey Scheafer of Skyview. Other boys nominees were Dan McInerney of Skyview, Matt Winter and Cooper Warren of Central and Kyle Ryan of West.